Stockton Accident Attorney Handles All Types of Auto Accident Cases
California law says you must stop—whether the accident involves a pedestrian, a moving car, a parked car or someone’s property. If you drive away, you can be charged with hit and run even if the accident was not your fault.
- Help or get help for injured people.
- Warn motorists (use flares, hazard lights).
- Call 911 to contact the police or California Highway Patrol if an injury or death occurs.
- Use the last page of this pamphlet to take notes on the accident—write down information about the other driver and car, witnesses, passengers, accident location and more.
- Cooperate fully with law officers, but speak with your insurance company or insurance agent and/or lawyer before accepting any blame.
- DO NOT sign anything without fist speaking with a Stockton accident attorney at the Sadiq Law Firm – CALL NOW: (209) 943-0000
You must also exchange information with the other driver — your name and driver’s license number, the vehicle identification number of the car you are driving, the name and address of the car’s owner, the name and address of your insurance company and your insurance policy number (or other evidence of financial responsibility, such as a bond posted with the Department of Motor Vehicles). After an auto accident:
- Call or see your physician if you have any health concerns.
- Report the accident to your insurance company.
- Report the accident to the Department of Motor Vehicles within 10 days if someone is injured or killed or if damage to either car is more than $750.
- Make a claim with your insurance company and/or the other driver’s insurance company to pay for your injuries and losses.
- Contact your insurance company and/or a lawyer if you are sued.
- Contact a Stockton accident attorney at the Sadiq Law Firm – CALL NOW: (209) 943-0000
Hit-and-run penalties are severe. Depending on the damage or injuries, you may be fined, sent to jail or both. You also could lose your driver’s license.
If you hit a parked car or other property, try to find the owner or driver. If you cannot, the law says you may drive away only after you leave behind, in a conspicuous place, your name, address and an explanation of the accident, and the name and address of your car’s owner (if other than yourself).
You also must notify the local police or California Highway Patrol (CHP) either by telephone or in person as soon as possible.
You must call the police or the CHP if the accident caused a death or injury. An officer who comes to the scene of the accident will conduct an investigation. If an officer doesn’t show up, you must make a written report on a form available at the police department or CHP office as soon as possible.
For immediate auto/car accident consultation contact a Stockton accident attorney at Sadiq Law Firm. We are experienced in handling all types of auto accident cases. CALL NOW: (209) 943-0000
If you were injured due to the negligence of another, regardless of the nature of the underlying accident, it is important to contact an experienced Stockton accident attorney to discuss your legal options. Sadiq Law Firm has the resources and expertise to aggressively litigate your case in court, fighting to get you just compensation for your injury.